Education and Interpretation

The following are articles and resources I have read on the topic of museum education and interpretation. If there is a resource you do not see here that was on this page, please contact me here.

  1. Boston 1775, “A Fifth of November Wagon Rolls Again”: http://boston1775.blogspot.com/2017/11/a-fifth-of-november-wagon-rolls-again.html?utm_content=buffer117a4&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer
  2. Journal of the American Revolution, “Slavery through the Eyes of Revolutionary Generals”: https://allthingsliberty.com/2017/11/slavery-eyes-revolutionary-generals/
  3. Ben Franklin’s World, Episode 159: The Revolutionary Economy, https://www.benfranklinsworld.com/episode-159-revolutionary-economy/?utm_content=bufferfa014&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer
  4. Alliance Labs Blog, Learning by Design: http://labs.aam-us.org/blog/learning-by-design-a-new-era-for-education-at-the-computer-history-museum/
  5. Teaching History in Troubled Times: http://blogs.edweek.org/edweek/top_performers/2017/08/teaching_history_in_troubled_times.html?cmp=eml-enl-eu-news3&M=58166791&U=2188307
  6. Digital Citizenship Lessons For Everyone: http://www.techlearning.com/resources/0003/digital-citizenship-lessons-for-everyone/70684?platform=hootsuite
  7. Brilliant Idea Studio, “Inclusive Interpretation Tips #museums”: https://brilliantideastudio.com/art-museums/inclusive-interpretation-tips-museums/
  8. Facing Today, Facing History and Ourselves Blog, “Help Your Students Reflect on the Tragic Las Vegas Shooting”: http://facingtoday.facinghistory.org/help-your-students-reflect-on-the-tragic-las-vegas-shooting?utm_campaign=Las%20Vegas&utm_content=61091711&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter
  9. How a Museum Garden Connects Community: https://medium.com/@paigedansinger/how-a-museum-garden-connects-community-20120f5a400c
  10. ExhibiTricks: A Museum/Exhibit/Design Blog, “The Value of Museums: New Research Findings from Susie Wilkening”: http://blog.orselli.net/2017/09/the-value-of-museums-new-research.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Exhibitricks+%28ExhibiTricks%3A+A+Museum%2FExhibit%2FDesign+Blog%29
  11. Alliance Labs, “Why Museums Should Care About Young Children”: http://labs.aam-us.org/blog/why-museums-should-care-about-young-children/
  12. The Guardian, “America has done a terrible job of telling the truth about racism”:  https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/sep/16/america-has-done-a-terrible-job-of-telling-the-truth-about-racism
  13. The Uncataloged Museum, “Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained”: http://uncatalogedmuseum.blogspot.com/2017/09/nothing-ventured-nothing-gained.html?utm_content=buffer17a47&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer&m=1
  14. Usable Knowledge, “Undocumented and Educated: Helping students and families navigate their opportunities, amid the realities of immigration policy in the United States”: https://www.gse.harvard.edu/news/uk/16/08/undocumented-and-educated
  15. Museum Questions, “What do teachers gain from professional development at an art museum?”: https://museumquestions.com/2017/07/20/what-do-teachers-gain-from-professional-development-at-an-art-museum/?platform=hootsuite
  16. Getting Smart, “8 Things to Look For in a Student-Centered Learning Environment”:  http://www.gettingsmart.com/2017/08/8-things-look-student-centered-learning-environment/?utm_campaign=coschedule&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=Getting_Smart&utm_content=8%20Things%20to%20Look%20For%20in%20a%20Student-Centered%20Learning%20Environment

 

Back