Education and Interpretation

The following are articles and resources I have read on the topic of museum education and interpretation. If there is a resource you do not see here that was on this page, please contact me here.

  1. Museum Education Roundtable, Yes, and… Comfort and Discomfort in Museum Guide Programs: http://www.museumedu.org/yes-comfort-discomfort-museum-guide-programs/
  2. Mobile Maker Space Gives Students Access To Design, Technology: http://ripr.org/post/mobile-maker-space-gives-students-access-design-technology
  3. You Want “Free” Museums? Then Show Me The Money!: http://blog.orselli.net/2018/01/you-want-free-museums-then-show-me-money.html?m=1
  4. Museum Notes, Education Committees: Stage-by-Stage: https://museumnotes.blogspot.com/2018/01/education-committees-stage-by-stage.html
  5. How Museums Are Becoming More Sensory-Friendly For Those With Autism: https://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/how-museums-are-becoming-more-sensory-friendly-for-those-with-autism-180967740/
  6. Play and Learning: What can children tell us?: https://museumquestions.com/2018/01/08/play-and-learning-what-can-children-tell-us/
  7. Envisioning the Accessible Future of Peer Review: http://futureofmuseums.blogspot.com/2018/01/envisioning-accessible-future-of-peer.html?m=1
  8. Institute of Museum and Library Services, Apply for a Grant: https://www.imls.gov/grants/apply-grant/available-grants
  9. Hear UR Podcast: http://tfleisch.digitalscholar.rochester.edu/hearur/
  10. This School Set Inside A City Museum is Redefining Education: https://brandstudio.good.is/xq/redefining-education?utm_content=buffer28984&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer
  11. Managing Interpreters: Presentations as Road Maps: http://blogs.aaslh.org/managing-interpreters-presentations-as-road-maps/
  12. The African American Firefighter Museum’s MAP Experience: labs.aam-us.org/blog/the-african-american-firefighter-museums-map-experience/
  13. the incluseum, Whiteness and Museum Education: https://incluseum.com/2017/12/14/whiteness-and-museum-education/
  14. What determines which objects you see in history museums?: https://pastinthepresent.wordpress.com/2017/12/20/what-determines-which-objects-you-see-in-history-museums/
  15. Boston 1775, “A Fifth of November Wagon Rolls Again”: http://boston1775.blogspot.com/2017/11/a-fifth-of-november-wagon-rolls-again.html?utm_content=buffer117a4&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer
  16. Teaching History in Troubled Times: http://blogs.edweek.org/edweek/top_performers/2017/08/teaching_history_in_troubled_times.html?cmp=eml-enl-eu-news3&M=58166791&U=2188307
  17. Digital Citizenship Lessons For Everyone: http://www.techlearning.com/resources/0003/digital-citizenship-lessons-for-everyone/70684?platform=hootsuite
  18. Brilliant Idea Studio, “Inclusive Interpretation Tips #museums”: https://brilliantideastudio.com/art-museums/inclusive-interpretation-tips-museums/

 

Back