Public History

Public History shares various links related to the public history topic. If there is a resource you do not see here that was on this page, please contact me here.

  1. A Fifth of November Wagon Rolls Again: http://boston1775.blogspot.com/2017/11/a-fifth-of-november-wagon-rolls-again.html?utm_content=buffer117a4&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer
  2. A Man of Many Talents, Many Tribes:
    A Q&A with Dennis Zotigh: https://folklife.si.edu/talkstory/many-talents-many-tribes-dennis-zotigh
  3. Slaves in the Ivy League: Princeton Discovers Its Racial Past: http://www.chronicle.com/article/Slaves-in-the-Ivy-League-/241692?utm_content=buffer70e7b&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer
  4. Elaborate Halloween Costume Tips from a 19th-Century Guide to Fancy Dress: https://hyperallergic.com/406549/halloween-costume-tips/
  5. “When Halloween Mischief Turned to Mayhem”: http://www.whatitmeanstobeamerican.org/identities/when-halloween-mischief-turned-to-mayhem/
  6. Boston Globe, Old North Church Opens Old Crypt: https://www.bostonglobe.com/metro/2017/10/25/old-north-church-opens-year-old-crypt/8KmL9GteGgKkZA43JC4TYP/story.html
  7. AASLH Blog: “Fakelore, Story Creep, and Other Crimes Against History”: http://blogs.aaslh.org/fakelore-story-creep-and-other-crimes-against-history/#parent=http%3A%2F%2Fblogs.aaslh.org%2Ffakelore-story-creep-and-other-crimes-against-history%2F
  8. A Graphic Guide to Cemetery Symbolism: https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/a-graphic-guide-to-cemetery-symbolism
  9. AASLH Blog, “Artful Encounters with Women’s History at the National Gallery of Art”: http://blogs.aaslh.org/artful-encounters-with-womens-history-at-the-national-gallery-of-art/?platform=hootsuite
  10. The Ways of Improvement, “What a Historian Said to His Classes Today”: https://thewayofimprovement.com/2017/10/02/what-a-historian-said-to-his-classes-today/
  11. AHA Blog, “Odd Jobs: The Outliers of Where Historians Work”: http://blog.historians.org/2017/10/odd-jobs-the-outliers-of-where-historians-work/
  12. The Virginian Pilot: https://mobile.nytimes.com/2017/09/17/arts/holocaust-museum-study-syria.html?action=click&module=News&pgtype=Homepage&utm_content=buffer19b4b&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer&referer=http://m.facebook.com/
  13. The New York Times, “The Holocaust Museum Sought Lessons on Syria. What It Got Was a Political Backlash.”: https://mobile.nytimes.com/2017/09/17/arts/holocaust-museum-study-syria.html?action=click&module=News&pgtype=Homepage&utm_content=buffer19b4b&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer&referer=http://m.facebook.com/
  14. WGBH, “‘Hamilton’ May Be A Broadway Hit, But Do School Kids Know Why?”: http://news.wgbh.org/2017/09/15/hamilton-may-be-broadway-hit-do-school-kids-know-why?utm_source=FBPAGE&utm_medium=social&utm_term=20170917&utm_content=1075718245

 

Back