Public History

Public History shares various links related to the public history topic. If there is a resource you do not see here that was on this page, please contact me here.

  1. The Greatest Showman: The True Story of P.T. Barnum and Jenny Lind: https://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/2017/12/greatest-showman-hugh-jackman-p-t-barnum-jenny-lind
  2. Paper and Provisions: Christopher Leffingwell and Connecticut during the American Revolution: http://digitalfarmington.org/american-revolution/paper-and-provisions-christopher-leffingwell-and-connecticut-during-the-american-revolution/
  3. The New York Times, Historic Church to Be New Home for Children’s Museum of Manhattan: https://mobile.nytimes.com/2018/01/04/arts/design/childrens-museum-of-manhattan-new-building.html?rref=collection/sectioncollection/design
  4. Mount Vernon Inn Restaurant Recipe, Chocolate Cream: http://www.mountvernon.org/inn/recipes/article/chocolate-cream/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=recipes
  5. The Unorthodox Fight to Save a Frank Lloyd Wright Home: https://savingplaces.org/stories/majorie-leighey-fight-for-a-frank-lloyd-wright-home
  6. A Long-Overdue Rehab for One Alaskan Longhouse: https://savingplaces.org/stories/long-overdue-rehab-for-chief-son-i-hat-whale-house-alaska-longhouse
  7. Philadelphia Public History Truck: https://phillyhistorytruck.wordpress.com
  8. History at Home in the Tenement Museum: https://nursingclio.org/2018/01/02/history-at-home-in-the-tenement-museum/
  9. Integrating the Past Into the 21st Century: 21c Museum Hotel: https://savingplaces.org/stories/integrating-the-past-into-the-21st-century-21c-museum-hotel#.WlPOoUxFzmI
  10. Preservation Personals: Connecticut Saltbox Offers Privacy and Delightful Views: https://savingplaces.org/stories/preservation-personals-connecticut-saltbox-delightful-views#.Wkv8oExFzmT
  11. New Years’ Cakes: Original Recipe: https://www.osv.org/new-years-cakes
  12. Smithsonian, World War I: 100 Years Later The Story of the WWI Christmas Truce: https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-story-of-the-wwi-christmas-truce-11972213/
  13. Opening of Secret UN Archive Yields New Holocaust Revelations: http://www.history.com/news/opening-of-secret-un-archive-yields-new-holocaust-revelations
  14. Digital Farmington, The Service of Africans from Connecticut in the American Revolution: http://digitalfarmington.org/slavery/the-service-of-africans-from-connecticut-in-the-american-revolution/
  15. Good Black News, Madam C.J. Walker’s “Villa Lewaro” Estate in New York Protected as National Treasure with Preservation Easement: https://goodblacknews.org/2017/12/21/madam-c-j-walkers-villa-lewaro-estate-in-new-york-protected-in-perpetuity-as-national-treasure-with-preservation-easement/
  16. Smithsonian, Untouched, Century-Old Fruitcake Found In Antarctica: https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/immaculate-century-old-fruitcake-found-antarctica-180964504/?utm_source=facebook.com&utm_medium=socialmedia

 

Back